Interview with Jamie Salisbury, author of the Tudor Dynasty Series


I have with me today, author Jamie Salisbury, who writes romance novels. I know, not my usual genre, but I really like talking to authors outside the genres I read to understand the differences in genres, the differences in writing styles, and reasons why I should be interested in the books. So, without taking to much of your time, here it is!

Interview with Jamie Salisbury, author of the Tudor Dynasty Series

Describe your books? What genre would you classify it into?

Romance, historical and contemporary. Women’s fiction, chick-lit.

How do you come up with the idea for the books?

Usually, the idea just drops out of no-where.

When and why did you begin writing? What do you enjoy most about writing?

I’ve been writing since I was a child. I started getting serious in high school when I took a creative writing class. What I enjoy the most about my writing is taking something from a simple idea I had in my head and turning it an actual story.

Where do your stories come from, a dream, imagination, or something completely else?

There is no one place where they come from. One could be loosely based on true life, another may be totally fabricated.

How has your journey from writing to getting published been?

Satisfying. I had tried going the traditional route and got shot down. So I started researching doing the indie publishing/ebook route and that’s where I am. It’s a great fit.

Who is you favourite character from your books? Is there a character in your books you think the readers will hate?

In Tudor Rose – I have two – Amadeus Tudor has to be my favourite character, then it would be Peter. The one the readers will love to hate? Hmmm, it would be Arnie.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

There really were no challenges as a lot of Tudor Rose came from actual incidents.

Who designed the covers of the books?

I’ve used several cover artists. Fiona Jayde has done a couple– the one for my upcoming novel, Timeless Sojourn and the remake for Tudor Rose.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

Patience!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your books?

No. I like them as they are.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Was there somewhere in the books you felt stuck?

Dialogue – I always get slowed down in dialogue and how much of it to write.

What are your current projects? When is your next book coming out?

 I am finishing up Timeless Sojourn. I also have a couple others in the works. Timeless Sojourn will be out in July.

Could you describe what happens in the next book? Can we get an excerpt?

Better yet, I’ll give you a blurb!

Recently divorced at a time when most women are enjoying their children being grown, Anne Harrison finds her life in chaos. At the urging of her forever-friend Kat, Anne moves back to Seattle, her childhood home, to get back her former confidence and make a fresh start.

Confident, creative, and a successful businessman, Geoffrey Quinn has depths not immediately apparent to those who come into contact with that cocky, devilishly handsome exterior.

The last thing either is looking for is a relationship. Anne finds Geoff highly irritating (and young!) at best, while Geoffrey finds her magnetic and wise. To his amusement, she futilely attempts to dismiss him each time they cross paths, and sparks fly.

Watch as this seemingly unsuitable, disparate duo lights a fiery, compelling attraction neither sees coming. But who will get burned

What book are you reading now? Which are your all-time favourite authors / books?

I don’t have a favourite author or book – right now I’m reading The Faith Club.

Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you, something you could not read just about anywhere.

I have my Masters in Professional Writing – I was a personal assistant to ***** ***** – I secretly wanted to be the female version of Eric Clapton (as a guitarist).

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to readers?

I love to hear from my readers, answer questions, etc. . .

~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt From Tudor Rose:

With the band preparing to go into the third song of the set, the stage lights fade to black and all the members of Tudor Rose walk off, leaving Amadeus alone. They file silently past me as I dart over to where I last saw him before the lights went out. I take Amadeus’s hand and tell him to stay with me. As we’re standing, I notice a individual holding a flash light approach us. It’s Red who sprinted up as soon as the stage went dark.

  The whole area is in chaos. Somehow Red manages to lead us away from the main hallway, knowing a crowd is gathering there. Everyone is searching for Amadeus, and I ask Red to monitor his radio. With Artie and Brad on site, I want to keep Amadeus out of the backstage area. After making our way through a maze of hallways, we exit on the opposite side of the venue. My phone is going off incessantly. I need to get us clear of the site. I’m about to send Red to find a vehicle as we stumble across one of the detectives who’d been at the house. I made sure he and his partner, Tom Nix had credentials for this evening, giving them access without letting on they were police.  He’s witnessed what happened and came outside to patrol the perimeter, while Tom stayed inside. Amadeus and I dive into his car, leaving Red to supervise the crew and breakdown. I tell him I’ll call him and Robert soon, once I get Amadeus somewhere safe.

~~~~~~~~~~

On writing:

Why do you write romance?

Just comes naturally.

Do you write clean romances or ones which border on erotica? Why?

I can write both. It just depends on the story line. Why? I guess because I think it’s good to be able to offer readers either.

If you could not write romance novels, what genre would you be writing and why?

Probably action/mystery/suspense type stuff.

Do you think the definition of ‘love’ has changed over the years, from the period you write in to today?

Absolutely. Since I write both contemporary and historical it’s easy to see how love has changed. Romance today seems forced and un-natural in a lot of cases.  Like it’s part of a “to-do” list.

What is the best part of writing romance novels, and the worst?

The best – being able to decide the characters fate. The worst – ending the book.

How do you research the historical aspects of our books?

Through the internet. . .although for  one project I’m researching right now, I’m reading a book.

 How difficult is it to create the perfect settings without ever actually having been there?

That’s where a good imagination comes in handy! Plus researching the time period.

I have to ask, tell us an interesting incident from your time working in PR.

Gee, well I guess if I could pick one – and this will date me – it was when Boy George and Culture Club were first the rage. They had come to town and were to do an interview, that was it. Totally unprepared for the crowd and masses at the hotel! My memory of Boy George – running through the kitchen of a hotel trying to get him safely out of the hotel and away from the masses.! He was a very smart young man. So sad what has happened to him over the years.

~~~~~~~~~~

About author Jamie Salisbury

Jamie Salisbury cannot imagine a time when she did not write. A skill that has served her well throughout her professional career. Public relations in and around the entertainment industry, photography, editing, and special event planning all elevated her passion for writing.
An avid reader of histories, biographies, and romance, it’s only natural that part of the products of her pen are historical romances featuring characters so authentic they spring forth from the page and shake the reader’s hand. Many of her teen years were spent in Chile, but she and her family were forced out of the country when the political climate demanded it.

Taking the plunge to take her writing professional came as a result of a series of foot surgeries that left her with a lot of time on her hands. Unable to walk great distances at the time, she started writing as a way to pass the time. Her experiences of how dramatically her life had changed at first. Then the new world of e-publishing inspired her to digitally publish her first novel, Perpetual Love, rather than relegate it to the dreaded drawer. She couldn’t be happier with her decision to grab the publishing industry by the shoulders and force it to pay attention to all she has to offer.

Two more novels have followed: Blood Lust and Tudor Rose, with more to follow soon.

Not one to allow anything to get in her way, Jamie has taken over her physical issues by storm, currently morphing herself with physical training, strengthening and a total diet overhaul. Stay tuned.

Jamie now lives outside of Atlanta, but the love for travel has never abandoned her. Adventure, exploration, and intrigue permeate her prose to the core.

In those few moments of the day when she’s not writing or thinking about writing, she finds knitting a way to relax and unwind. Other interests include photography, equestrianism, reading, and of course traveling.

Jamie hopes her writing will entertain, enlighten, and inspire others to pick up the pen and pursue their own dreams.

~~~~~~~~~~

 About Tudor Rose

Amadeus Tudor is rock star royalty. Tudor is part of a musical dynasty, who has risen to a level of fame usually seen once in a lifetime. He’s the front man for Tudor Rose, one of the top selling, most beloved rock bands in recent memory.
Zara Middleton, long time former manager and publicist to Tudor Rose has been brought back into the fold, this time as Amadeus Tudor’s personal assistant.. Someone is out to harm Amadeus, the question is who. And why would someone want to harm him? He has no known enemies, his fans as well as his business associates adore him.

As the new tour gets underway, unsettling things begin to happen and Zara wonders who among Amadeus’s new management team she can trust.

The tour also finds Amadeus and Zara inseparable. As Zara becomes aware of long ignored feelings and emotions toward her former client, Amadeus takes charge, determined not to lose the only woman he’s truly loved again.

~~~~~~~~~~

One response to “Interview with Jamie Salisbury, author of the Tudor Dynasty Series

  1. When is the next Tudor series book coming out? I need it!!!

So, what do you think?

