Daily Archives: May 3, 2012

Reading is what made me a writer by Malika Gandhi


Reading is what made me a writer

by Malika Gandhi

Ever wished you had a time machine? I’m sure, like me, everyone has wished for one at many stages of their lives.

I wanted to be a writer at a very young age, at the age of eight or nine. At that time, something triggered an unconscious thought into my brain of wanting to be a writer. Was it the obsessive reading I did as a child? Perhaps so. The long hours I spent reading words, book after book hadn’t gone unnoticed within my family circle who would tease me about it (I had a tendency to curl up in a corner, take my book out and read, ignoring the activity before me. I always got lost in my book world).

I loved the library.  I made several, glorious trips to the big building which contained the published works of those successful writer people!  I would rummage through the isle looking for those perfect reads. We were allowed to take out eight books at a time and that is what I did when some would only take out two. I took out my cherished library card and had my eight books scanned into the library system.

Continue reading

