Interview with Katheryn Lane, author of Her Latin Lover and The Royal Sheikh


Hi everyone! Today, I have with me author Katheryn Lane, who writes contemporary romance novels. This is Katheryn’s second visit to the blog, as she also participated in my huge Valentines Day Giveaway. This is quite different for me as I have not interviewed romance authors before, so it got very interesting! Lets get to the interview and get to know more about Katheryn and her books.

I also have a giveaway running right now where two lucky winners will receive a set of both her books. So, go on and enter the giveaway here!

Interview with Katheryn Lane, author of Her Latin Lover and The Royal Sheikh

Describe your books? What genre would you classify it into?

I currently have two published novels, The Royal Sheikh and Her Latin Lover, which are both contemporary romances set in fictional places.  The Royal Sheikh is set in an imaginary country in the Arabian Peninsula and Her Latin Lover is based in a fictitious place in South America, so they have a certain element of fantasy about them which I hope provides readers with some great romantic escapism. Both books are face-paced, with a lot of action and conflict, but I don’t think I’d be giving too much away if I said that, like most great romances, they have a satisfying happily-ever-after ending. Reviewers have described my books as being ‘a romantic roller coaster’, having ‘lots of flat-out chemistry’, ‘sweet, heart-warming, yet sexy’, which is fantastic, as this is exactly what I hoped to achieve when I started writing each novel.

How do you come up with the idea for the books?

My first romance, The Royal Sheikh, was inspired by my life in the Middle East. I moved here several years ago with my family and when I first arrived I went out to explore some of the country. While I was out, I came across a deserted beach on the Arabian Gulf. I must admit I wasn’t swept off my feet by a royal Sheikh, but I did see a Bedouin tent and some camels out in the distance, which set me thinking about who might live there and what they might be like. The rest of the story developed from there.

My second romance, Her Latin Lover, was inspired by my love of travel.  Luckily, I have never woken up anywhere and found myself completely alone with no money, but it does happen to people and I started wondering how such a thing could occur and what the person would do next. Much of the local details were provided by a close friend who spent a long time working in South America. However, unlike the heroine in Her Latin Lover, Mary, my friend never found herself caught up with the local mafia, at least not that I know of!

When and why did you begin writing?

I think I have always written something in one form or another, from short stories to poems, but I stared writing novels when my children began school and I was just working part-time, which meant that I had a little bit of free time on my hands. Whatever I write, the thing I enjoy most about it is working on the characters and seeing them develop as the story progresses. Maybe it’s self-indulgent, but I can’t imagine not writing.

How has your journey from writing to getting published been?

Websites like Smashwords and Amazon have made it possible for authors to publish their work independently. My first romance novel, The Royal Sheikh, spent two years being negotiated over with a major romance publisher. In the end I got tired of dealing with them and decided to publish it myself which was unbelievably easier and quicker. For my second novel, I didn’t even bother submitting it to publishing houses and published it directly through Amazon. However, it still takes time to publish an ebook as any good book has to be edited and proof-read first and this can take a while.

Who is you favourite character from your books? Is there a character in your books you think the readers will hate?

That’s a tricky question! I love all my heroes and heroines, but if I had to pick one it would probably be Paulo in Her Latin Lover as he’s strong, powerful and sexy, but also vulnerable and kind. The character that readers would probably hate the most also comes from Her Latin Lover, a local mafia boss called El Leon, who has twisted fantasies about the heroine, Mary, through I can’t say anymore without giving away too much of the plot!

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

The biggest challenge for me now is time! Before I published my first romance, I didn’t think about marketing, I just thought about writing romance novels (many of which still lie unfinished on my computer) and, as I said earlier, I was only working part-time. Then, I got a job as a full-time English teacher and later decided to publish The Royal Sheikh on Amazon. Once it was out, I spent a lot of time promoting it which meant that it took me ages to finish my second book. I now try to keep a balance between writing and marketing, but that, along with work and raising a family, means that I have almost no free time!

Who designed the covers of the books?

Judy Bullard at www.customebookcovers.com did both of my book covers. She’s great to work with and I’d certainly recommend her.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?

I’ve learnt a lot about technology and social networking (much of which I still haven’t mastered!) In process, I’ve also learnt that there are a huge number of great readers and writers out there, such as you, Ritesh!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your books?

I wouldn’t waste two years discussing my book with a publisher. Instead, I would publish directly onto Amazon in the first place.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Was there somewhere in the books you felt stuck?

I often get stuck in the middle of a book (maybe that’s why there are so many unfinished ones on my computer!), as the characters start to take over the story and sometimes they try to push it in directions that I don’t want it to go. For example, in the middle of Her Latin Lover, the heroine goes to stay in the hero’s hacienda. They both find each other incredibly sexy and they both want to get together as soon as she arrives and live happily ever after. However, that would be the end of the story. As I was writing, I therefore had to make sure that they were prevented from doing so in a realistic way.

What are your current projects?  When is your next book coming out?

I’m currently working on a third romance which is based in Texas. However, at the rate I’m going it won’t be out for quite a while!

Could you describe what happens in the next book? Can we get an excerpt?

I’m afraid I’m still at the plotting stage (I like to have a book fully plotted before I start, as it helps prevent the characters from taking over too much!), so I can’t give you an excerpt, but I can say that it’s about a women from England who gets in touch with her rich Texas cousin and goes out to stay with her on holiday. While she’s there, she meets a local cowboy who shows her that Texas isn’t all about shopping malls and beauty salons . . .

What book are you reading now? Which are your all-time favourite authors / books?

I’m reading a book called ‘The Other Hand’ by Chris Cleave, which I picked up at an airport recently because it has a great book cover. It’s a beautifully written story about a Nigerian girl who one day meets a young couple from London on a local beach. This meeting has terrible consequences for all of them, but I won’t say any more in case I spoil the story for people who haven’t read it. I have several favourite authors, including Shakespeare, Jane Austen and Dickens.

Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you, something you could not read just about anywhere.

I’m not sure what would be ‘good to know’ about me, but here are three things that might be of interest:

Firstly, and most importantly in my life, I have two sons and a wonderful husband who all support my writing. Secondly, if I hadn’t become a teacher and a writer I would have loved to have been a ballet dancer. Thirdly, I love peanut butter, banana and lettuce sandwiches!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to readers?

Thank you to all the wonderful readers that have enjoyed my books!

Some Questions about writing Romance Books

Why do you write romance books?

I think authors generally write what they love to read, and since I love reading romance that is what I write.

Do you write clean romances or ones which border on erotica? Why?

I write clean, or ‘sweet’, romance. I believe there is a place for all types of romance at every heat level, but since I prefer to read sweet romance, that is what I also like to write.

If you could not write romance, what genre would you be writing and why?

I love history, so if I didn’t write romance I would like to research and write historical biographies, particularly about woman whose role in history has sometimes been overlooked.

What is the best part of writing romance novels, and the worst?

The best part is the happily-ever-after ending that leaves the reader on a positive, feel-good high at the end of the book. The worst part is that life often isn’t like that . . .

Quick-fire questions

ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?
All! I love books in any form.

Cats or dogs?
Dogs, as I’m allergic to cats

Coffee or tea?
Tea on a daily basis and coffee occasionally

Favourite food?
Chocolate – lots of!

Vanilla or chocolate ice-cream?
Chocolate ice cream, though vanilla is good with toppings such as chocolate sauce!

What are 4 things you never leave home without?
Perfume, lipstick, money and house keys

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?
On a computer, anywhere at any time! I’ve written at various times of day and night, it all depends on when I can grab a few spare moments.

If you were deserted on an island, who are 3 famous people you would want with you any why?
Oscar Wilde, Mae West and Shakespeare as there would never be a dull moment.

List 3 of your all-time favourite movies?
My Little Chickadee (starring Mae West and WC Fields), Gone with the Wind and Titanic.

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?
I recently took my kids to see The Muppet Movie – we all loved it!

~~~~~~~~~~

ABOUT AUTHOR KATHERYN LANE

Katheryn Lane works full-time as a teacher, mother and wife, but somehow also finds time to be a part-time writer as well! She loves to write contemporary romances set in exotic locations. Her acclaimed first romance, THE ROYAL SHEIKH, was inspired by her experience of living in the Middle East and her second novel, HER LATIN LOVER, takes readers to the treacherous towns and countryside of South America. In her free time (on the rare occasion that she has any!) she likes to lose herself in a good book.

|    Blog    |    Facebook Page    |    Twitter    |    Goodreads    |

|    Amazon    |    Smashwords    |

~~~~~~~~~~

ABOUT HER LATIN LOVER

Buy on Amazon

Escape from danger with HER LATIN LOVER

When Mary Delaney is offered an all expenses paid, luxury holiday in South America with her journalist boyfriend, the last thing she expects to happen is to find herself stuck in the middle of nowhere with no boyfriend, no money and no way of getting back to London. When an irresistibly sexy landowner, Don Paulo de Castile, tells her that he has just won her in a game of poker, should she believe him, or try to find out what has happened to her missing boyfriend?

Paulo didn’t realise at the beginning of his poker game that he was playing to win Mary, a woman who bears a striking resemblance to a person he once loved. However, it takes more than a game of cards to win Mary’s heart and Paulo isn’t the only local man interested in her. As well as battling for Mary’s affection, he has to fight off the attentions of the local mafia in a fight that can have only one outcome . . .

ABOUT THE ROYAL SHEIKH

Buy on Amazon

Get swept away to the desert with The Royal Sheikh

Clare McKay is a dedicated architect with no time for womanising men. That is, until she accidentally meets Sheikh Rafiq Al Kahil, an Arabian prince, known in the international press as the Playboy Prince. Clare is intent on not falling for his seductive charm, but when he asks her to design a mansion, he presents her with an offer that she can’t refuse.

Once she finds herself alone with him in the Arabian desert, how long will she be able to hold out against his advances? And will he be able to cast aside his womanising past for her, as well as a secret engagement to an Arabian Princess?

So, what do you think?

