Daily Archives: March 13, 2012

Review of Bloodstone (Brother Athelstan Medieval Mysteries) by Paul Doherty


BloodstoneBloodstone by Paul Doherty

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Buy on Amazon: Hardcover

The mystery revolves around the theft of the magnificent Passio Christi, a precious bloodstone, a fist sized ruby which is an extremely important Christian relic and the death of Sir Robert Kilverby in a locked room who was the person holding it in safe custody. The Passio Christi is also linked to the Wyvern Company, who were the ones who had ‘found’ it during their exploits in the war in France. When one of the men in the Company is also found murdered, the mystery deepens and Friar Athelstan and Sir John Cranston, Coroner of London are called in to investigate.

Continue reading

Lessons in Storytelling from Other Artists by Dana Sitar


Lessons in Storytelling from Other Artists

by Dana Sitar

1) Make yourself the villain

In editing the stories for my next book  The Hart Compound, I had a lot of trouble trying to figure out just how to make one particular story sing. It was tricky. I am trying to portray a particularly emotional time when I did some particularly shitty things, and for a long time I couldn’t quite get the right emotions to come out.

One brief line in this post about storytelling from Jeff Goins made me realize what I am doing wrong with this story:

“If you’re guilty of those [negative] acts, you’ve been the villain.”

Continue reading