Daily Archives: March 8, 2012

Poseidon’s Children by Michael West – Book Trailer Reveal


Poseidon’s Children

Book One of the Legacy of the Gods Series

“Man no longer worships the old gods; forgotten and forsaken, they have become nothing more than myth and legend. But all that is about to change. After the ruins of a vast, ancient civilization are discovered on the ocean floor, Coast Guard officers find a series of derelict ships drifting in the current–high-priced yachts and leaking fishing boats, all ransacked, splattered in blood, their crews missing and presumed dead.

And that’s just the beginning.

Vacationing artist Larry Neuhaus has just witnessed a gruesome shark attack, a young couple torn apart right before his eyes … at least, he thinks it was a shark. And when one of these victims turns out to be the only son of Roger Hays, the most powerful man in the country, things go from bad to worse. Now, to stop the carnage,Larry and his new-found friends must work together to unravel a mystery as old as time, and face an enemy as dark as the ocean depths.”

Ritesh: Wow! This sound like a really interesting book, but what got me really into is was this book trailer:

About the Author

Michael West is the critically acclaimed author of The Wide Game, Cinema of Shadows, and Skull Full of Kisses. His new novel, Poseidon’s Children, is the first chapter in an epic Urban Fantasy series entitled The Legacy of the Gods.

West lives and works in the Indianapolis area with his wife, their two children, their pet bird, Rodan, and turtle, Gamera. Faithful readers can keep up with his many on-going projects @    http://www.bymichaelwest.com

Ritesh: So, what does everyone think of the trailer? Do you think the book will be scary? Interesting? And … do you plan on reading it?

The Making of an Anthology by Coral Russell


The Making of an Anthology  

by Coral Russell 

I’m part of a horror anthology called Playing with Fire. In fact, I organized it. Did I know what I was doing? Nope. So what made me think I could put together an anthology? I’m crazy that way.

I had written two mediocre, at best, short stories. I was smart enough and lucky enough to find two incredible crit partners who helped me make them into good short stories. Readable short stories. I gave them away. Listed them on a lot of freebie sites.

While they were mediocre, I had entered them into a horror contest and then became disgusted when non-horror books were making it into the top ten. I actually read through about eighty horror books in the contest and realized there were some real gems not making it into the contest.

I realized that a good book alone was not enough to place in the top ten. People who knew how to work the system made it in. There’s a lesson about social media in there somewhere. But that’s another guest post. Long story short, I ended up picking the winner and with Chryse’s help, got it in through a wildcard nomination.

After watching that spectacle unfold, I decided to send out a mass message asking if there was any interest in coming together for a horror anthology. I asked my good writing friend, Chryse Wymer, first because she’s just all around smart and wrote a top-notch short story I loved.

Continue reading