Past Lives #1: Rachel by Stephanie Abbott Review


Past Lives #1: Rachel (The Past Lives Series, #1)Past Lives #1: Rachel by Stephanie Abbott

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Buy on Amazon:    Kindle    |    Paperback

I loved the idea behind the series and was really excited to get to read this book. I can say that the story definitely does not disappoint. The story runs along in two timelines, as all the characters in the present day are reincarnates from 1870 who knew each other back then and were somehow intimately connected. They were all part of a society of “super-humans” who had certain abilities which made them special. Each of the characters seems to have retained their special abilities in the present day. In the beginning, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by the two roles played by each character, past and present, but it became easier to follow as the story continued.

The author has done a wonderful job of delineating and describing each timeline beautifully. The historic timeline is quite suitably described, which I consider a big achievement, as any discrepancy here would throw the reader off the story. I have not read any Victorian era dramas and so, have no idea about that world, but the world which the author describes here, just seems perfect. There are elements of steam punk in this book as technology from the past is brought out wonderfully.

The magic in the book may be quite familiar to a lot of readers. Telepaths, telekinetics and pyrokinetics all make an appearance and seem to be a big part of the series. I expect them to make a continued appearance in all the remaining books in the series. With such a vast array of super-human characters, I expected a lot of action sequences and I was not disappointed. The action is fast paced and at times, breath-taking. I just loved it as magic and action intertwined in a beautiful symphony!

The book is quite short, and I consider it to be a novella rather than a full blown novel. Would it have been better to extend the book, and reduce the series from six books to just three? I think so. I definitely think this book was missing some much needed background on both the past and present characters. A little more information for readers to go on and really get into the mystery would have been nice. However, the author has left enough hints to be able to guess the direction the series is taking. In fact, I see a much, much bigger story unfolding as the series continues. This, atleast for now, will keep my anticipation levels high for the next book in the series.

The book works as it is right now, but I would have liked for the story to continue rather than wait a few months for the next instalment. After the amount of time it has taken longer series like Harry Potter and Inheritance Cycle, not to even mention Game of Thrones to complete, I have become really wary of long series. It may so happen that a number of readers may get tired of waiting and lose interest. Maybe, the author will look at this and consider changing the format? Besides this aspect, I have to say that I love this introduction and am looking forward to getting the next book in my hands!

Buy on Amazon:    Kindle    |    Paperback

3 responses to “Past Lives #1: Rachel by Stephanie Abbott Review

  1. Great review. The book sounds interesting. I like a series, but as you commented, do not like too much time between books.

  2. Thanks, Ritesh, for reading and reviewing my book!

  3. Reblogged this on Stephanie Abbott's Blog and commented:
    Here’s a nice review of my latest book…

So, what do you think?

