Daily Archives: March 1, 2012

Interview with Nicole Storey, author of The Chosen One (Grimsley Hollow Series)


This post is part of ‘Nicole Storey as featured author for an entire week’. During the week we will be having a number of posts by Nicole. You can find the details here. There will also be a giveaway happening for 3 copies of Nicole Storey’s novel ‘The Chosen One’, which is the first book in the Grimsley Hollow Series series. You can enter the giveaway here.

Today, I interview Nicole and we talk about her books, her life as a mother and an author and her inspirations for writing. Frankly, its one of the best interviews I’ve done!

Interview with Nicole Storey, author of The Chosen One (Grimsley Hollow Series)

Describe your series? What genre would you classify it into?

My book is about an 11-year-old boy who has autism.  He has no friends until he meets a young witch named Eve and she introduces him to another world called Grimsley Hollow.  He is needed to help the magical beings of this world defeat an evil witch who is trying to take over.  Along the way, he makes some new friends, including an ornery pixy, a werewolf, and a vampire.  I describe my books as middle-grade fantasy with a touch of paranormal and a whole lot of Halloween!

How did you come up with the idea for the series?

I simply combined some of my favourite things that I love and am passionate about: special-needs children, Halloween, and magic.  My son has autism and he is also the main character in the story.  I decided to write the book to get a message out to children: Special-needs kids are not so different from them in the fact that they only want to be accepted for who they are and included in our lives.

Continue reading

