Book Review – The Chosen One (Grimsley Hollow Series) by Nicole Storey


The Chosen One (Grimsley Hollow Series)The Chosen One by Nicole Storey

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Buy on Amazon:   Paperback   |   Kindle

About the Book

Gage Gilbert is an eleven-year-old boy who has autism, loves Halloween, and has no friends. Although he has always been happy with the safety and security of his family, he longs for a real friend and adventure – not just the ones he makes up in his head. Then, he meets Eve.

Eve is a young witch from another world called Grimsley Hollow. It’s where all magical beings live in safety and peace, but their world is in trouble. Gage is the only one who can help save them from an evil witch who has taken control.

~~~~~

My Review

The Chosen One revolves around a young autistic boy named Gage, who does not have friends and feels isolated because of his autism. All this changes when he meets Eve and comes to know about another world called Grimsley Hollow where all the magical beings we read in books about, reside. This is the start of an adventure which involves witches, werewolves, vampires, pixies and dragons. This is a classic good vs. evil story as Gage and all his new friends unite to fight against an evil witch Inari, who has captured their parents.

I loved the world which the author has created. The beauty of the descriptions had me stunned. I could see myself walking through these woods and actually meeting all these magical beings I’ve read about. The idea that all these creatures can live together in peace somehow was quite intriguing. In this world, each of the magical beings has a separate area in which they reside, which is attuned to their needs. This leaves a huge amount of scope for the next books in the series. I can expect to meet new beings and see the different areas in which they reside in the coming books in the series. I would love to visit the areas in which the vampires, werewolves and dragons stay. That would be amazing. I could also relate to each and every character in the book. They may be so different, but they each have similar problems. They’re each looking to be accepted and be loved. This is why Gage was able to feel right at home with them, I think.

I was truly amazed at the transformation that Gage undergoes through the course of the book from the lonely boy without any friends into someone willing to risk it all for the sake of his new friends. His character really shines through in the end when it is time for him to step up.

I have to say, somewhat shamefully, that having never experienced autism first-hand, I had the same impression about people suffering from it, that the author here is trying to battle. I did think of them as somewhat quirky, somewhat eccentric and at times ‘crazy’. But, this book has changed that completely. I now understand that they’re just like us and have the same wishes, to be understood, to be loved, to have friends and to not be treated differently. I really commend the author for having opened my eyes.

Even if I were to ignore the amazing message this book is trying to get through, I would still rate this book as 5 stars. The story, by itself is engaging and really fun. There were times when I could not read fast enough to be able to see what happens next in the story. At other times, I dreaded moving on, as the feeling of the coming trouble crept over me. Don’t get me wrong, this is a middle-grade book and the violence is not something that you need to be wary of, per se. It was just the suspense and the great build-up to all the critical parts of the book that had me on this roller-coaster.

This book can be the perfect introduction for children to the world of fantasy, a world I wish someone would have introduced me to sooner. All I can now say is, I want to get to the next book in this series sooner to know what happened after the cliff-hanger the author left us with.

Buy on Amazon:   Paperback   |   Kindle

8 responses to “Book Review – The Chosen One (Grimsley Hollow Series) by Nicole Storey

  1. Awesome review!! This book sounds fabulous!

  2. Very enticing review. The book sounds wonderful.

  3. Thank you so much, Ritesh, for your honest review of my book!

  4. Great review, Ritesh! Nickie is such a gifted writer! Can’t wait to read the next book.

  5. Pingback: Nicole Storey as ‘Featured Author’ for an entire week! | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

  6. Pingback: Interview with Nicole Storey, author of The Chosen One (Grimsley Hollow Series) | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

  7. Pingback: Writing is My Second Job – Guest Post by Nicole Storey | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

  8. Pingback: Grimsley Hollow – The Search for Siren – Chapter One Reveal! | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

So, what do you think?

