My journey as an Author by Nicole Storey


This post is part of ‘Nicole Storey as featured author for an entire week’. During the week we will be having a number of posts by Nicole. You can find the details here. There will also be a giveaway happening for 3 copies of Nicole Storey’s novel ‘The Chosen One’, which is the first book in the Grimsley Hollow Series series. You can enter the giveaway  here.

Do remember to come back everyday. There are going to be a lot of great posts by Nicole. You do not want to miss it!

My journey as an Author by Nicole Storey

.
Hello!  My name is Nicole Storey and I am the author of Grimsley Hollow-The Chosen One.  This is the first book in, what I hope will be, the Grimsley Hollow series.  I live in Georgia with my husband, two amazing children, my cat (who thinks she’s a tiger), and a bunch of goldfish.

Unlike some, I didn’t want to be a writer when I grew up.  I have always loved writing stories and reading books, but my dream was to become a marine biologist.  I wanted to live on the beach somewhere and swim with dolphins, whales, and sharks.  I wanted to preserve our beautiful oceans and sea-life.  When I was little, I believed there was an under-water city somewhere occupied by mermaids and one day, they would make me and honorary member of their family.  Yeah, I’ve always had a big imagination, so if anyone asks where my kids got their’s from, now you know.  That is probably the one aspect of my children’s personalities that can’t be blamed on my husband.  🙂

However, sometimes we don’t get to choose the paths we walk in life.  I never became a marine biologist.  I never even made it to college.  With four children to provide for, my parents usually had more lint in their pockets than money.  At the age of fifteen, I went to work after school and on weekends – the opportunity for college and my dream job never came.

Years later, I am the mother of an autistic son – who also has Tourette’s syndrome – and a beautiful tom-boy daughter.  Obviously, someone up above had other plans for me.  Out of necessity, I became a stay-at-home mom.  I absolutely loved it (and still do), but at times, I felt like that was how everyone described me: A stay-at-home-mom.  I was losing my identity.

I began writing my first book to relieve stress and to have something for myself.  I never intended to publish it.  I started the “book” four years ago and worked on it off and on.  I didn’t rush or worry because what was the point?  It was just a way to pass the time after my many cleaning chores, errands, and other “stay-at-home-mom” duties were done for the day.

It wasn’t until my son started middle-school at the age of twelve that I began to think about taking the “book” more seriously.  My son began a long, hard road that year and was (and still is) bullied every day at school.  I started to think that maybe I could use my book to teach kids a moral:  Special-needs children just want the same things as other kids – to be liked for who they are, to be included, and to have friends.  But how in the world could I hope to get a publishing company interested in my idea?

In February of 2011, I received a Kindle for my birthday.  It was then that I learned about self-publishing.  I began to read about authors who were taking charge of their careers and going “Indie” – publishing their own work for the world to read.  I immediately started over on my writing and began to take it more seriously.

In September, I self-published my book on Amazon, CreateSpace, and Smashwords.  In November, I signed with my publishing company, Inknbeans Press.  The year 2011 was a whirlwind of fears, uncertainty, thrills, and outright joy for me.  Maybe I was meant to be a marine biologist, who knows?  For now, I like where I am and I pray that I am able to do this for a very long time.

Nicole Storey is the author of Grimsley Hollow-The Chosen One.  Her book can be found in e-book and paper back forms on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Apple iStore, Sony, and other online website that sell books.

If you’d like to contact Nicole, here are her links:

Facebook    |    Twitter    |    Blog

Website    |    Publisher    |    Amazon Page

Ritesh: I used to think that I would grow up to become a scientist. Maybe even a mad scientist! LOL But, I am now working in investment banking. Although I love what I do, I still think, what if …? What about you? What was your dream? What did you want to be? And, did you get close?

About Nicole’s books

Gage Gilbert is an eleven-year-old boy who just happens to have autism, loves Halloween, and has no friends. Although he has always been happy with the safety and security of his family, he longs for a real friend and adventure, not just the ones he makes up in his head. And then he meets Eve.
Eve is a young witch and is from another world called Grimsley Hollow. It’s where all magical beings live in safety and peace, but their world is in trouble and Gage is the only one who can help save them from an evil witch who has taken control.
With Eve’s help (along with a sarcastic pixy, a trouble-making werewolf, and a half-vampire), Gage travels to Grimsley Hollow and together, they begin a journey that will change them all. It’s a dangerous race against evil, where creatures unheard of stalk the land under a harvest moon and monsters that only exist in dreams become real.
Gage wanted friends and adventure, but he had no idea that they would come at such a dangerous price. Can one autistic boy defeat an evil witch and help save his new friends? Travel to Grimsley Hollow and find out!

Buy on Amazon for Kindle

7 responses to “My journey as an Author by Nicole Storey

  1. Great post Ritesh and WOW, what an amazing journey Nicole – very inspirational! xx

  2. I wanted to be an archaeologist. My love of history remains but, instead of digging up bones, I dig for stories. Not a bad trade.

  3. Even though I have always been a writer, my dream was to be an accomplished artist. Who knows it may still come true, I have begun illustrating the first three picture books for my ‘In My Sister’s World’ serial.

    Great post Nicole and Ritesh.

  4. Wow what a journey, an inspiration for sure. 🙂

  5. I’ve always wanted to be a housewife/writer and was working on that when my children were little. I’m finally back to it after they are all grown. I suspect there are parts of your childhood dreams that you can make real, even if you never get to college. Try it.

    Bonnie

  6. Thanks everyone! I appreciate the comments and support! I may not be a marine biologist, but I do have lots of goldfish. In a way, I did make part of my dream come true! LOL!

  7. Pingback: Nicole Storey as ‘Featured Author’ for an entire week! | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

So, what do you think?

