Someone Else’s Fairytale by Emily Mah Tippetts Review


Someone Else's FairytaleSomeone Else’s Fairytale by Emily Mah Tippetts

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Buy on Amazon:    Paperback    |    Kindle

I’ll start by saying that this is the first chicklit/romance book I have ever read and I had no idea what to expect from this genre. I have nothing to compare this book to, so this is an absolute rating. I really don’t know how fair that is. So, I’m going to tell you whether I liked the story, and whether the book met the expectations I set for every book I read.

The premise of the story is quite simple. Boy meets girl. They become friends. They finally fall in love and live happily ever after. Even with this rather generic premise, I liked the story due to two reasons. One, there is a major twist to this basic premise. And two, the author has done a terrific job at fleshing out the characters.

The story revolves around two main characters, Chloe and Jason, as well as their families. The big twist is that Jason is a movie superstar. While returning back to Albuquerque for a shoot, he somehow recognises local Chloe, and that is where their story starts. She really does not seem interested in dating Jason and wants to be friends. It is really interesting to read how the story goes from there to the final fairytale.

The genius of the author is in how real all the characters are, not just the main characters. Jason’s family and Chloe’s friends are all developed well with individual personalities that fit perfectly into the story. I loved Jason’s family. They are really amazing and super-nice, and are just like every other ordinary family even though Jason is a superstar. This is what really appealed to me. Jason’s sister, his niece, Chloe’s best friends and mother, they all have an important role to play in the story. None of them are out of place, over the top or unnecessary.

Both Chloe and Jason have a murky past which has moulded their personalities and their lives. This is the reason Chloe can’t trust anyone. Jason’s past is also the reason he is amazingly nice and does not really act like any superstar would. I won’t say what incidents shaped them, as it would give away too much of the story. But in the end, it all seems perfectly logical as to why these two are perfect for each other.

I’m not saying the story is perfect, otherwise it would be worthy of five stars. Although the book had its twists and turns, they are never too difficult to anticipate. I just did not get that huge sense of foreboding or anticipation to know what would happen next. This is something I’d want every book to have. Maybe, it’s wrong on my part to expect this from a romance novel. Who knows? But I think the author could have added something to make the story a bit more challenging.
So, let’s get to the main question. Does Chloe finally get her fairytale? You’ll have to read the book to find out. But I’ll say this; the ending may not entirely be what you expect!

Finally, I want to say that this is a terrifically written book by an extremely talented author who really knows what she is doing. She was able to bring her characters to life, and make us feel their happiness, pain, excitement and disappointments. For this, I give the book four stars.

Buy on Amazon:    Paperback    |    Kindle

2 responses to “Someone Else’s Fairytale by Emily Mah Tippetts Review

  1. Pingback: Valentines Day Giveaway – Two signed ebooks of Someone Else’s Fairytale by E.M. Tippetts | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Interview with Emily Mah Tippetts, author of Someone Else’s Fairytale | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

So, what do you think?

