The World Among Us Blog Tour – Interview with author Beth Ann Masarik


Hi everyone! As part of  The World Among Us Blog Tour, today I have with me author Beth Ann Masarik. We talk about her and her book. And it is an awesome book! You can find my review here. Also, be sure to enter the scavenger hunt and the giveaway!

scavenger hunt

There is an amazing scavenger hunt going on during the tour. The grand prize for the scavenger hunt, is an autographed hard cover of Prince of Darkness from both me AND the illustrator, some never before seen artwork for it, a totebag, a personalized mug, and a keychain 🙂 But the winner for that won’t be announced until the end of the month. Details of the Scavenger Hunt at the end of the interview!

To enter, you’ll have them mention Beth in a tweet @theworldamongus or tag her in a post on Facebook Beth Ann Masarik, and leave a blog comment with your email address to enter to win. You will also have to follow my blog to qualify 🙂 You can follow me by email (available in the top left corner), like my Facebook page (Ritesh Kala’s Book Reviews) or follow me on Twitter (@mastbrat)

Giveaway

As part of the giveaway, you can win an ebook of  The World Among Us, an autographed poster of the Prince of Darkness cover and a  The World Among Us keepsake box.  Here’s the big bonus, you need to do the same things as the scavenger hunt to qualify for the giveaway as well! Remember to follow me to qualify to win these awesome prizes.

You can follow me by email (available in the top left corner), like my Facebook page (Ritesh Kala’s Book Reviews) or follow me on Twitter (@mastbrat). Remember to leave your Twitter handle in the comment!

Interview with  author Beth Ann Masarik

Describe your book? What genre do you consider your book?

The World Among Us: Prince of Darkness, is a Young Adult/Fantasy/Urban Fantasy saga.  It revolves around vampires and Greek gods, and forbidden love.  All of my characters (especially the main ones), have some sort of internal conflict.  Picture Harry Potter meets Percy Jackson meets Twilight.

When and why did you begin writing? 

I began writing when I was in high school.  I’ve always had an over-active imagination.  When the opportunity arose, I took creative writing classes in high school and in college.  Anyone who knows me can tell you that I’ve been writing my entire life pretty much.

How did the idea for this story come to mind?

I’ve always loved magic, and I was going through a rebellious stage when I wrote the original draft back in 2003. I had been reading Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire, when I realized that I wanted to write a book and have it published.  One of my ex’s at the time helped me come up with some of the ideas, and I bounced some of mine off of him.  Since I was the one who wanted to write the book, I was the one who wrote it all down.  Then, in 2008, I found the original manuscript in the bottom of my closet, dusted it off, and read through most of it.  I realized that it needed to be greatly improved, and that the plot was all over the place.  So, I did some research on how to write a novel, and sat down and plotted out what is now the current version of Prince of Darkness.  I wrote it all on my own, but bounced some ideas off of my best friend, Robin.  Once I was ready to sit down and write it, I entered my very first writing challenge…NanoWrimo.  No, I didn’t complete the book in a month. In fact, it took me at least 2 years to complete the new version.  I was going to a business school and working at the same time, so my writing time was limited.

Do you, in real life believe in the infallibility of God?

I plead the fifth.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing the book to life? 

One of the most difficult challenges, was, and to this day, is coming up with the right description for everything in the series.  This is because I have a learning disability, and one of the issues that I have is with abstract & critical thinking.  I can picture a place or character in my mind perfectly.  But to write the physical description down on paper or on the screen was VERY difficult.  The research part was easy, it was sitting down to write the book that was a challenge.

What is the hardest part of writing the series?

As I said above, the hardest part for me is writing the description of everything. I have a tendency to tell and not show, when it should be the other way around.

Who designed the covers of the book? 

JE Designs designed the cover for Prince of Darkness, me and my friend, Elena Strano designed the cover for Murderous Regrets, and Lynn Calvert designed the cover for Moon Spirit.

Did you learn anything from writing your series and what is it?  

I’ve learned that you have to just keep writing…even when you feel like giving up. I have also learned, that it is important to find a great group of people that you can bounce ideas off of. My friends and I do that all the time.  It’s a great way to get out of writers block.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in the book? 

Hmm.  I would change the cover to make it less scary looking lol.  I would also go back and add some more description to a few things, but all in all, I love the way it turned out.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Was there somewhere in the book you felt stuck?

The most challenging thing that I found when it comes to writing, is being descriptive.  Part of it has to do with my learning disability, but the other part of it has to do with finding the right words.  Like, for example, describing the Underworld aka Hell.  Hell is different for everyone, and is not exactly “tangible.” How is one supposed to describe something that you can’t physically see?

What are your current projects?  When is the next book in the series coming out? 

My primary project is writing the sequel to Prince of Darkness, which is tentatively called Stormy Nights.  This is the real heart of the trilogy, and one of the most exciting books by far.  You really get to know the characters, and it focuses on Damien and Selene’s relationship, and how Selene copes with finding out that she now has all of these powers.

Could you describe what happens in the next book in the series? Can we get an excerpt? 

Stormy Nights, is the continuation of Prince of Darkness. It focuses more on Selene in the “present day.”  She finds out about magic and that there is a whole other world out there that she belongs to.  She also FINALLY gets to meet Damien in reality (and not just in her dreams like in Prince of Darkness), and the fight of her life begins.  I will post an excerpt at the end of the interview.

Excerpt from Stormy Nights (un-edited)

Prologue

I never used to give any thought to my future.  No…it used to be do, do, do and go, go, go.  I never once thought about how my actions could affect the world.  I never thought that my life would ever mean anything.  I was Hades’ son…my future was laid out before me.  But now?  Now that I have committed the worst crime ever, my life has turned upside down.  I don’t know right from wrong anymore, or which way is up.  I can’t go back home, because if I do, Hades will kill me.  If I don’t stay and help the gods to bring Hades down, then the world could possibly come to an end, and at my hands.  How can I live with this guilt?  How could I have been so stupid?  What am I going to do now that Selene is reborn and Hyperion refuses to let me near her?  How are Selene and I supposed to fulfill the prophecy and form our own empire?

~Damien

What book are you reading now? Which are your all-time favorite authors / books? 

I am currently reading two books; Bloodlines, by Richelle Mead & Legacy of the Highlands by Harriet Schultz.  Bloodlines, is a spin off from Richelle’s Vampire Academy Series and is YA/Fantasy.  Legacy of the Highlands, is an adult Romance/thriller that revolves around some Scotland history.  My all-time favorite authors are Richelle Mead & JK Rowling.

Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you, something you could not read just about anywhere.

Hmm.  That’s a tough one lol.  I LOVE to role play, albeit online or table top (d&d style), bowling is another great past time, AND did ya know that I LOVE Disney?

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to readers?

If you want to write…then just…write.  It’s not that difficult to pick up a pen and just do it.  Write in a language you feel comfortable in.  You can write ANYTHING, albeit a journal/diary, blog, novel, short story, etc.  Writing, I find, can be therapeutic (I know it is for me), I have and helps relieve stress.

I also want to thank my readers for supporting me and for reading The World Among Us (and anything else that I have published).

Please join me tomorrow for a chance to win some awesome goodies   🙂 http://aandhowareyou.blogspot.com

NOW, for the fun part  🙂  THE SCAVENGER HUNT!

Dress up as your favorite character or have someone dress up as your favorite character, and send the pictures to Beth at bethmasarik@gmail.com.  She will post your pictures on her blog on Friday, February 10th.  (You will have until Thursday the 9th to send them to her).

About Beth Ann Masarik 

Beth Ann has been writing since she was 15 years old, and was published in the 2002 Schreiber Times. She took creative writing classes in college, and feels that they helped her become the writer she is today. In addition to writing the sequel to The World Among Us, she participates in an international anthology project, where writers from around the world come together to share their talent.

Originally starting as a writing assignment for college, The World Among Us series has sparked up a role playing group online, and a fan base of over 300 followers on Facebook, and over 500 followers on Twitter.

Beth Ann lives in New York where she is a legal assistant and teaches for her Family Time program, a religion program for the kids in her parish. She is also a lector on the weekends.

For more information about me and The World Among Us, please visit her website at www.bethannmasarik.com and www.otherworldpublications.com.

About The World Among Us

In The World Among Us, Hades, the god of the Underworld, plots to take over the world, and remove Gaia, the head Deity, from power.  In order to do so, he plots against his own son, Damien, and cons him into killing his soul mate, the beautiful goddess of the moon, Selene.  Hades does so, because Gaia is his natural enemy, and Selene is her favorite grandchild.  He thinks that by killing off Gaia’s favorite grandchild, he will weaken her.  With Selene out of the way, Hades then moves in on the Creatures of the Night.  He wants to kill off their leader, Jason Aysel.  Jason is the go-between person between worlds, and another person that Gaia highly regards.  Hades manipulates and cons Jason’s best friend, Leon Greene, into murdering him, by offering him Jason’s position as his reward.  Because of these actions, a war is to take place on earth between the gods and other Creatures of the Night.  During this time, Selene is reincarnated, and kept hidden as a secret weapon to win the war against Hades.  In order to win the war of wars, the gods and some of the demons will have to fight together, and learn to co-operate with each other.  Will the Titans and Olympians be able to set aside their differences, and take back the world from Hades?  Or is the world as we know it, doomed to fall under dark shadows, forever?

6 responses to “The World Among Us Blog Tour – Interview with author Beth Ann Masarik

  1. Hi..I am already following you by Facebook and Twitter. Am really excited about this giveaway! Thanks a lot, Ritesh, for the giveaway! And an amazing interview!

  2. Hi! I am now following on Facebook and Twitter as well. Beth, this is a great interview! I even learned something (though I admit to knowing all 3 of your “good to know” pieces). 😉

  3. I can empathise with the tendency to tell instead of show. Although I don’t have a learning disability, I too have this problem in my writing and have to constantly recraft sections that I have written to add in more description and find the right words to show what it is I see in my mind. (I am http://www.facebook.com/beckyfyfe on Facebook and @moonduster on Twitter.)

  4. Another informative and interesting interview. Thanks Ritesh for being a part of Beth’s tour you did a great job! I already follow you on twitter @rnydayramblings.

  5. Thanks Ritesh and everyone for commenting! Tomorrow’s stop will have the rafflecopter. Unfortunately, wordpress doesn’t like it lol. It’s for the same giveaway, and will be on aandhowareyou.blogspot.com.

  6. This is awesome! Loved the prologue of TWAU #2 😀

So, what do you think?

