Interview with Kristina Jackson, author of The Fool’s Journey


Hi everyone! Today, I have author and friend, Kristina Jackson with me on  the blog. She has graciously accepted to answer all my questions, even the dumb one. So, I’d like to dive right in.

Interview with author Kristina Jackson

Can you tell us about your book? What genre would you classify it into?

The Fool’s Journey is a book that takes you on a journey. It follows the path of a young woman trying to find herself and her true path. Along the way she meets friends, falls in love and discovers all is not what it seems. A mixture of ghost, witchcraft, tarot cards and humour. This book will have you laughing, crying and even perhaps feeling a little afraid in places. Best of all, it has a happy ending!

Amazon classifies my book as Horror / Occult. I would prefer to see a genre that is Paranormal / Happy ending.

When and why did you begin writing?

As soon as I could hold a pencil and spell. But I’ve been officially embarked on this course as a writer for a year now, January 2011. I partook in Nanowrimo in 2010 and this opened pandora’s box. Those years of wanting to write, that had been secured behind the brick wall started to breach the defenses and overtook my senses. I am disabled by a health condition called POTS. Whilst this has taken away some of my mobility, it has left my brain open to the plot bunnies. I now could not stop writing even if I wanted to.

How has your journey from writing to getting published been?

My journey from writing to publishing has been very interesting and fun! I’ve had the fortune to be accepted by an Indie Press very early on. I would recommend this path to any author who also wants to go into print.

Who is you favourite character?

My favourite character is Moira, she is quite endearing. She is a spirited woman, who is strong, loving and faithful. She is also a Witch.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

The life of a writer is never easy. We go through bouts of self-torture, wondering if any word we’ve written is good enough. I write from my heart, from my soul. So every word has to be woven, it is not simply thrown onto the page. I tried this, it does not work for me. So the whole process of writing is an emotional one.  Research etc is a joy not a chore. I love the quest of knowledge and find research a fun part of writing. The biggest hurdle I have is my lack of ability of grammar or sometimes spelling. But I discovered the wonderful world of Beta readers and editors, now I can follow my path all the way.

Who designed the covers of the book?

My friend Oephebia designs tarot cards, the image on the front cover is one of hers.  I placed that image into a book cover format.

Did you learn anything from writing what was it?

I learnt not to race the words, let the words flow at the natural pace they want to come at. Create each word lovingly, stroke it, caress it don’t force it. But do encourage them to come freer by writing a little everyday. Some days I write a lot more than a little.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your books?

No. There is no point putting out a book you are not happy with in the first instant.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Was there somewhere in the books you felt stuck?

I think every writer comes across points where inspiration is not forth coming. When life’s events get in the way.

What are your current projects?

Oh, this is one of the questions like ‘how long is a piece of string?’ I have several erotica projects I am working on, 24 planned main stream fiction works and a bubbling pot of other ideas. I suspect the next project out from me will be a erotica short story.

What book are you reading now? Which are your all-time favourite authors / books?

I tend to read two books at a time. One in the bath and one as an ‘escape’ in between work and family life. Sean Sweeney is my current bath time read and I’ve just download Matthew Drake, for my inbetween reading. My all time favourite authors are Terry Pratchett and J R R Tolkien. Although I like Agatha Christie, Dick Francis, Ellis Peters to name but a few. Although don’t tell him M. Edward McNally is holding the current crown for my favourite Indie Fantasy writer.

Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you, something you could not read just about anywhere.

  1. I love to laugh. My personality is summer, sunshine with thunder storms.
  2. I’m eccentric. OK, that probably can be found out most places, but thought I would tell you anyway   🙂
  3. I prefer to make love not war.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to readers?

If you like a happy ending, read my book.

Quick-fire questions:

ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?
Any book!

Cats or dogs?
Cats

Coffee or tea?
Coffee

Favourite food?
Food with flavour.

Vanilla or chocolate ice-cream?
Chocolate ice-cream

What are 4 things you never leave home without?
My Kindle, my keys, my iPhone, my lipstick.

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?
I write whenever, wherever but to get a good story going I prefer peace at home, in my office. (well my craftroom / office)

If you were deserted on an island, who are 3 famous people you would want with you any why?
Err Terry Pratchett, he can tell stories.  Dan Snow, because he is sexy and clever and I can do historical research whilst I am there. Tony Robinson, to make me laugh.

List 3 of your all-time favourite movies?
This is hard as I don’t do movies as much as I do books but I would say in no specific order;

  1. The spaghetti westerns by Clint Eastwood.
  2. The America Pie series
  3. Dirty Dancing.

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?
I love documentaries, but there was a British sit com called The Café on Sky, which was hysterical. A mix of humour and feel good. I loved this.

About The Fool’s Journey

Can tarot cards really help a young woman whose life is not all it’s cracked up to be?

Moira is frustrated by her life and even more so because she just doesn’t know what to do about it. A spur-of-the-moment decision to attend a psychic fair to get a tarot reading changes all of that. The Tarot reading helps her realise and see exactly what she should do. Moira’s friends and family start to question her sanity when she consults pieces of card for guidance. When she decides to quit her job, sell her house and move away, they’re sure of it.

What do Tarot cards mean? Can they help her find out about herself and guide her to a happier future? What has an encounter with a poltergeist and a haunted chest got to do with Moira’s journey to find fulfillment?

Buy on Amazon.com:    Paperback    |    Kindle
Buy on Amazon.co.uk:    Kindle
Buy on Smashwords: All eBook formats

author Kristina Jackson

“One day you will write your own book, just let your heart guide you.”

Those were the immortalised words of my teacher in the 5th Year of Primary School; I was 8 at the time. I’d just had a short story published in the school magazine, and won a prize of a book for my privilege. I knew I had wanted to write since I could write sentences. 28 years later I am realising that dream.

I am Kristina Jackson. I am in my mid thirties, wife, mother of two, owner of one dog and slave to two cats. One of my cats, Bono, is my writing companion. He is often found sharing my lap with my laptop or partially draped over the keyboard if I am using the laptop on the desk.
I suffer from a condition called POTS (postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome) I have become disabled by it, but as physical doors have shut the mental ones opened. Now I have so many ideas, and the ideas are throwing out so many characters who are each threatening to run away with my remaining sanity.

It is anybody’s guess where this will now lead.

3 responses to “Interview with Kristina Jackson, author of The Fool’s Journey

  1. Elaine Raco Chase

    Great interview and some informative writing insights. Congrats!

  2. Great interview. Thank you for sharing. Love getting into the author’s head.

So, what do you think?

