Interview with Renée Pawlish, author of ‘The Nephilim’ trilogy


Today, I welcome Renée Pawlish, author of ‘The Nephilim’ trilogy to the blog. I had a great time talking to her about her books, and the new trilogy  ‘The Nephilim’. You can expect a giveaway of one of her books soon. So, stay tuned!

Describe the series? What genre would you classify it into?

The Nephilim trilogy is hard to put in any specific genre.  It’s part horror (without the blood and guts), it’s got paranormal/supernatural elements, and those of mystery.  However, based on the response from readers, the genre doesn’t matter – they’re loving it.

How did you come up with the idea for the series?

I had just started rereading ’Salem’s Lot by Stephen King when I had a dream that became the genesis (pun intended) for Nephilim Genesis of Evil.

When and why did you begin writing?

I first began writing in grade school, trying to emulate the Hardy Boys series.  I took creative writing classes in high school and kept writing in college.  When I got out of graduate school, I had a story idea and a friend encouraged me to write it.  That first, albeit bad novel, put me on the writing path.

I started writing Nephilim in 2005.  I had just finished the second in my Reed Ferguson mystery series when I got the idea for Nephilim, so before I’d even edited Reel Estate Rip-off, I wrote Nephilim.

How has your journey from writing to getting published been?

It’s been interesting.  I first self-published Nephilim in 2007 after numerous agents told me they loved the book but didn’t think there was a market for it.  It sold pretty well, and I continued writing other things.  Then last spring I decided to jump on the ebook bandwagon and I’m publishing all my books (and writing more).  It’s been wonderful and I’ve been receiving great reviews on all my books.

Who is your favourite character? Is there a character in the series you think the readers will hate?

I like Rory Callahan.  He’s a good guy, confused about the paranormal apparition he’s seen, and he wants to find out what it is.  As the story progresses, he thinks about others as much as himself.

Nicholas’s dad is a schmuck – I don’t see how anyone could like him.  An amusing aside – I had a reader criticize Nicholas, saying that he wouldn’t be so scared of an abusive father.  I worked as a counsellor for years and I can tell you, my portrayal of Nicholas is indeed accurate. 🙂

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

I had to do a lot of research on apocryphal books to find out all I could on the Nephilim, but it was incredibly interesting.  Sometimes little things, like what kind of gun the sheriff would carry, can be frustrating because the answers aren’t always easy to find.

What was the hardest part of writing the series?

I’ve only written the first one so far, but I’m about to start the second one.  It’s difficult to get back into the character’s heads and get the feel for the storyline, especially since I’ve been working on the Reed Ferguson series lately.

Who designed the covers of the books?

I had a local artist and friend design the cover.  I think it turned out great, but I think it scares some people away.

Did you learn anything from writing your series and what was it?

Writing any series can be tough because you have to make sure you properly develop your characters from one book to the next, and you have to stay true to their natures as well.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your books?

I always find things I could change, but you have to reach a point where you feel it’s the best it can be for that moment, release it, and move on.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Was there somewhere in the books you felt stuck?

With every book I’ve ever written (eleven and counting) I find I get stuck in places, usually in an issue with the plot.  Those are the times I have to force myself into pushing forward because the way out will present itself, it just takes time.

What are your current projects?  When is the next book in the series coming out?

I am wrapping up the third Reed Ferguson novel, and I’m putting the final touches on the first Noah Winter kid’s adventure book, called The Emerald Quest.  I hope to have the next Nephilim novel out this summer.

Could you describe what happens in the next book in the series? 

Rory, Anna and the others are going to face the Nephilim once again, on a bigger, more dangerous scale.  That’s all I can tell you, but you can bet it will be great.

What book are you reading now? Which are your all-time favourite authors / books?

I’m reading a book called Cryer’s Cross.  One of my favourite books is The Godfather.  I love the way that story is told and the irony in it.

Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you, something you could not read just about anywhere.

  1. I climbed fifteen of Colorado’s fourteeners (peaks that are higher than 14,000 feet), on my way to climbing all of them (54).
  2. I’ve been to over twenty countries around the world.
  3. As a kid, I read every Hardy Boy book at least twice.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to readers?

Go buy my books, you won’t regret it.  🙂

Quick-fire questions:

ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?
Hardcover

Cats or dogs?
Cats

Coffee or tea?
Tea

Favourite food?
Ice cream

Vanilla or chocolate ice-cream?
Vanilla

What are 4 things you never leave home without?
Sunglasses, license, cell phone, and music.

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?
In my office, surrounded by my books, working later in the day with music playing.

If you were deserted on an island, who are 3 famous people you would want with you any why?
Jesus (peace Himself), Elvis (love me the King), and Cary Grant (my favourite actor – what a hottie).

List 3 of your all-time favourite movies?
Some Like It Hot, The Godfather, Stage Door

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?
I love The Big Bang Theory, can’t get enough of it.

Books by RENÉE: 

 Nephilim Genesis of Evil

A dark power described in Genesis revisits a small mountain town.
A journalist who witnessed an evil presence searches for answers.
He finds a town succumbing to supernatural forces.
Now, an evil prophesy may be fulfilled by the Nephilim.

Buy on Amazon

This Doesn’t Happen In The Movies

A wannabe private eye with a love of film noir and detective fiction.

A rich, attractive femme fatale.
A missing husband.
A rollicking ride to a dark and daring ending.

Buy on Amazon

About Renée Pawlish

Renée Pawlish is the award-winning author of the bestselling Nephilim Genesis of Evil, the first in the Nephilim trilogy, the Reed Ferguson mystery series (This Doesn’t Happen In The Movies and Reel Estate Rip-off), Take Five, a short story collection, and The Sallie House: Exposing the Beast Within, a non-fiction book about a haunted house investigation in Kansas.  Her YA novel, The Emerald Quest, will be published soon. When Renée’s not hiking, cycling, or chasing ballplayers for autographs, she is writing mysteries and thrillers. She also has some middle grade novels waiting to be published.

Renée loves to travel and has visited numerous countries around the world. She has also spent many summer days at her parents’ cabin in the hills outside of Boulder, which was the inspiration for the setting of Taylor Crossing in her novel Nephilim: Genesis of Evil.

Go to the Author Amazon Page

One response to “Interview with Renée Pawlish, author of ‘The Nephilim’ trilogy

  1. Thanks for featuring me, I sure appreciate it.

So, what do you think?

