Interview with the author of ‘The Nousdian Chronicles’, Mark Waters


A very warm welcome to Mark Waters, author of ‘The Nousdian Chronicles’. Mark is here today to tell us about his series ‘The Nousdian Chronicles’. We get chatting, and find out more about him, his likes and his future plans.

So, without further delay, let’s get started!

Describe your series? Can you tell us about the world in which the series is set?

The Nousdian Chronicles are the story of Abigail Brown, a bright young tomboy, who discovers a door to a parallel universe in her father’s study. The twelve books in the series cover her life story, beginning at the tender age of almost thirteen, and that of the world to which she truly belongs. Nousidia is the real world, a magical world in which all beings live together in harmony, be they humanoid, vegetable, animal, dragon or something else entirely. The human world, or their perception of the world, was created by an ancient magic to contain the human race for their crimes against nature, and is separated by a splitting of the planet. However, Nousidia is in danger, as an evil witch called Belladora has gained control, and is turning the world towards her evil ways. She has captured her father and now she has set her eyes on the only remaining heir to the throne: Abigail.

How did you come up with the idea for the series?

The idea came to me at home one Christmas morning some years ago while I was dreaming about magic and architecture. I remember, my first thought was: What would it be like if we worked with nature to create architecture, rather than destroying it. I jotted down a few ideas, and by lunchtime I had the bones of the first chapter.

When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote my first short story at eight years old: a thriller that the reader interacted with, making a series of decisions for the main character as the story progressed. Since then I have written all sorts of stories in various genres, but always come back to my passion: fantasy. I write because I love to, it’s as simple as that.

How has your journey from writing to getting published been?

Rocky, as I’m sure any writer will tell you, but it’s all been worth it to enable people to read my stories. As I said: I write because I love it, if people want to read my work, then that’s great.

Who is you favorite character? Is there a character in the series you think the readers will hate?

I love Bit and Bot, as they are mischievous like me. After reading the first book, I imagine most readers will take a dislike to Belladora; she is the bad guy after all. But that may well change as the series moves forward …

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

The biggest challenge for me was to form some sort of order to the millions of ideas that have come to me, and continue coming, as I write. I have notes everywhere with bits of characters and plot ideas jotted down, all waiting for the right moment.

What was the hardest part of writing the series?

Being patient. It takes time to write a coherent book, especially a series, and I want to get it all down on paper as it comes. Unfortunately the ideas don’t arrive in the right order, so I have to squirrel away ideas for use later and focus on the current manuscript.

Who designed the covers of the books?

A good friend of mine: Jane Garrett. She understands Abigail and the images she creates are superb. I wanted a cover that was interesting and told a story in itself, I think Jane has done me proud.

Did you learn anything from writing your series and what was it?

I learnt that everyone should believe in himself or herself. I do now, but so many times along the way I could have thrown in the towel and given up. If you have passion, like I do about writing, and you believe in yourself, you can achieve anything your heart desires.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your books?

I haven’t finished the remainder of the series yet, so who knows what may happen!

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Was there somewhere in the books you felt stuck?

Spelling, punctuation, etc … I have had moments when I get stuck, like everybody, but I just take a break; maybe take my dog for a walk in the beautiful countryside I am lucky to live in, or brew a cup of tea. It gives my brain a rest, and then I’m off again.

What are your current projects?  When is the next book in the series coming out?

I am currently in the final throes of writing the second book in the Nousidian Chronicles series: The Enlightenment of Abigail Brown, which is due for release in August 2012. After that, not surprisingly, I will continue with book three.

Could you describe what happens in the next book in the series? Can we get an excerpt?

Hmmm. Book two continues Abigail story. She has settled in Nousidia and all is well, until a ghost from her past returns and throws everything upside-down. As for an excerpt: I’m afraid you’ll have to wait a little longer. I will be releasing a teaser soon via my website at http://www.nousidia.com.

What book are you reading now? Which are your all-time favorite authors / books?

I am currently reading Inheritance by Christopher Paolini. I love most genres, but fantasy is my favorite, so J K Rowling, Philip Pullman, Angus Wells, Tolkien, and many more feature high on my list.

Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you, something you could not read just about anywhere.

I am a very private person, so I don’t share much. What you hear about me may be true, and it may not. I am a good person who values family and the love of a good woman. That is ‘good to know’

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to readers?

Buy my books! Seriously though, if you like to escape into a great story with well thought out, rounded characters, twisting plot and a laugh or two, then read my stories: you may well enjoy them!

Quick-fire questions:

ebooks, paperbacks or hardcover?
All of the above, the choice is as individual as the reader. Personally I’m a Hardcover kind of guy.

Cats or dogs?
I have both, but I couldn’t be without my dog

Coffee or tea?
Tea, naturally: I am an Englishman

Favourite food?
Bangers n mash to my own recipe

Vanilla or chocolate ice-cream?
Vanilla, I have simple tastes

What are 4 things you never leave home without?
Wallet, iPhone, keys, and a copy of my book (as there’s always someone who asks about it!)

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?
I have a couple of special places, but anywhere that inspires my imagination. As for when, well, that depends on the inspiration.

If you were deserted on an island, who are 3 famous people you would want with you any why?

  1. J K Rowling as she is the most influential writer in the last decade, in my humble opinion.
  2. Keira Knightly, because she’s hot, and I would love to hear what it was like to remake ‘Pride and Prejudice’
  3. George Lucas, as he has always been a hero of mine. Star Wars was the first film I ever saw at the cinema, and I still love it now.

List 3 of your all-time favourite movies?

  1. Star Wars – simply because it’s the best science fiction movie ever made.
  2. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone – for its simply breathtaking imagery of J K Rowling’s work.
  3. A tie between The fifth Element, The Terminator and Bladerunner – all great films of their time

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?
The Big Bang Theory is being shown here at the moment. It enables me to relax and enjoy some amusing ‘brain-off’ time.

About Mark Waters

Mark Waters was born in 1970, and has spent most of his life concocting stories, much to the amusement of family and friends. An engineer by trade, architecture and structure has always fascinated him, an influence that can be seen within the world of Nousidia. Over the past few years the written word has become an important part of his life, with several articles published in local magazines as a guest writer, until one Christmas morning when ‘The Nousidian Chronicles’ were born.
‘The genre of fantasy fiction inspires the imagination, and allows the author, and then the reader, to escape into another world. This, along with the need to get this story out of my head, has resulted in the first of the Nousidian Chronicles saga: The Enchantment of Abigail Brown.’ Laughs Mark when asked why he decided to write a novel, ‘I am merely a simple story teller with a simple story to tell.’
Mark has gained an international following through his Facebook page and via his regular tweets on Twitter as TheNousidian and is currently working on the second book in the Nousidian Chronicles saga: The enlightenment of Abigail Brown.

The Enchantment of Abigail Brown (The Nousidian Chronicles 01)

Abigail Brown is a smart girl: academically brilliant and bullied at school. Even at the tender age of almost thirteen, she knows there is more to this existence than following the daily grind. Walking home from school, after breaking up for the summer holidays, she comes across a fat tabby cat called Arnold, who, much to her surprise, introduces himself.

This event is the catalyst that guides Abigail to return to the ‘real world’, a world in which she was born, a world in which she belongs, a world where she is princess and heir to the throne, a world that is completely unknown to her. Discovering a door in her father’s study, Abigail is joined by her faithful dog Apollo, her new companion Arnold and her best friend Tom. Together they travel into the realm of Nousidia; a land where nature lives in co-existence with all life: man, beast or dragon.

Upon entering this world, Abby’s three companions experience an extraordinary change; each as remarkable as the next, and equally unique, returning to their true forms. Apollo becomes a tall, youthful soldier with long golden hair, Arnold a lumbering warrior, having the torso of a bear and the majestic head of a lion, and Tom aging tenfold into withered old man, his true age becoming only too apparent.
Abby finds her homeland in the grip of an evil tyrant, her aunt Belladora, who is holding her father, the true king, prisoner. She vows to release him and embarks on an adventure into the real world: the world of Nousidia. They travel across the kingdom, reuniting with friends, family and places long forgotten, discovering the true nature of the planet we call Earth.

Along this journey the slumbering power of natural magic awakens inside her, allowing communication with all in her kingdom, and with it the strength to unite them against their common foe. With this magic comes the quickening, a state in which one becomes of age: a process that takes Abby quite by surprise, as she finds herself suddenly in womanhood.

Abby discovers that this is the real world; the human perception being created by ancient magic to contain those who renounce the ways of nature, allowing a fragile balance between good and evil. It is an imbalance in this status quo that has allowed the seasons to change: the daylight hours of summer, the time of good, shortening, whilst the time of evil, the winter of night, has gained strength, the interim period, known as dusk, when both are present, becoming an all consuming battle for supremacy.

Abby’s return to Nousidia generates unrest amongst the outcast tribes, bringing rebellion to the witch Belladora’s door, and uniting the lost people once more. The ancient battle between good and evil is rekindled, bringing war to Nousidia: a war in which neither side can truly conquer: an uprising that produces an unexpected hero.

The Enchantment of Abigail Brown is a journey into the real world; a journey of discovery, myth and magic, a journey most only dream of.

Find Mark Waters:

Blog      Website      Facebook Page

Twitter      Amazon Kindle      Amazon Paperback

One response to “Interview with the author of ‘The Nousdian Chronicles’, Mark Waters

  1. Great interview. Going to download book one right now.

So, what do you think?

