Interview with Author Joyce Mitchell


Today, I have the pleasure of talking to Joyce Mitchell about her books and her writing career. Joyce has agreed to answer some of my questions to help her readers understand her, and her books a bit better.

Joyce Mitchell 

So, here we go:

Please describe your books? What genre do you consider your books?
My books cover several genres from historical fiction, to children’s books, fantasy, and adventure.

Are the book’s characters or story based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My debut novel, Unheard Cries: A Marriage Horror was based on true accounts of my life and some fiction.  My short story book, Rock Store Short Stories’ was incorporating my grandchildren in a fictional setting. My children’s books, Dink and Daisy, and Toby the Trout were fictional stories that taught of the lessons of life, sometimes with humor.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in writing the books?
Most all of my work has been from past experiences as well as internet research and were written from my sunroom in my home.  With my children’s books, I would let my imagination run and then sit back and laugh, wondering where did that come from.

What was the hardest part of writing the books?
Actually writing the book was not hard since it was a complete inspiration from within, however; learning the styles for publication, procedures and such were challenging.

What is your thought process like when you’re writing?
Sort of just going with the flow that comes to mind and then editing it for easier reading. It is never a (job), it is an adventure for me to embark on every time I get a new idea for another book.

Did you learn anything from writing your books and what was it?
I don’t know if I learned anything new as much as I reinforced what I have firm convictions and opinions on. Of course from the standpoint of book writing,  I learned lots of things, but mostly it allowed me to see on paper what I feel inside.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your books?
No I don’t think so, perhaps a cover or two, but mostly I would leave them intact. I tried to express my full feelings in every book so I don’t have anything more to add.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
In the writing I sometimes find it hard to put in words what I really feel without overstating my subject. I want to clarify every thought but not to the boredom of the reader and sometimes this is a balancing act that’s hard to balance.

What are your current projects?
I’m working on a sequel to Unheard Cries: A Marriage Horror, hope to have it out by the first of 2012.

What book are you reading now? Which are your all-time favorite authors / books?
The Chosen One by Nicole Storey (love it). If I have to name just one, my all-time favorite author is Karen Kingsbury, Every Now & Then, but I also have many, many more.

Give us three “Good to Know” facts about you, something you could not read just about anywhere.

1.  I love children, teaching phonics and helping in any way I can.
2.  I hate it when people judge you before they even meet and know you.
3.  I could eat at Olive Garden every day, love Italian food and I don’t want to leave out good old Mexican food. Delicious.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to readers?
I hope my books inspire you in the same way they did me, and that they would be a help to someone as they journey through life.

Author bio:

Joyce Mitchell is a writer/teacher and resides in LaGrange, Georgia with her husband and has two children. She is the author of four books. Her debut novel, Unheard Cries: A Marriage Horror won a 5-star review and badge from Readers Favorite in November. Her other works include a collection of short stories, Rock Store Short Stories, and two children’s books, Dink and Daisy, and Toby the Trout. She’s currently working on a sequel to Unheard Cries.

She’s devoted to her family and church and spends her days writing and helping underprivileged children.

To find out more about Joyce and her work:

Website    |    Facebook    |    Twitter    |    Amazon Page

Books by Joyce Mitchell

Unheard Cries: A Marriage Horror  by Joyce Mitchell

Unheard Cries is an engaging story of the Lerner family. It focuses particularly on the relationship between the Cherokee beauty, Emma, and her abusive husband Aaron. It also reveals how some of the most urgent cries of the heart are often never heard by the outside world. Also revealing how one love gone wrong can affect the lives of many people. Unheard Cries is a book that reaches into the dark lonely hearts of many that are never quite able to get the attention that is needed for help in their troubled life.

Buy on Amazon

 

Rock Store Short Stories by Joyce Mitchell

Rock Store Short Stories is a compilation of heart-felt deep impacting emotional short stories experienced at all ages and very easy to relate to.

Buy on Amazon

 

Dink and Daisy by Joyce Mitchell

Dink and Daisy is a fictional story of one not so cute ox-eye daisy (Dink) and a beautiful Gerbera daisy ( Daisy) who were accidentally planted in the wrong place and it seemed they would never be noticed by the owner (Barton’s). The goal of all daisies was to be placed in a beautiful bouquet in the Barton’s house as a place of beauty and honor.Their story displays how even when not as expected life can still turn out good if we “bloom where we are planted.

Buy on Amazon

Toby the Trout by Joyce Mitchell

Toby the Trout, is an adorable short story of life’s adjustments taught by two river trout, Toby and Gus, that are as different as night and day, but were the best of friends. The story has humor, suspense, and a tremendous ending that will inspire all ages. Reviewed here.

Buy on Amazon

 

Booger Bottoms by Joyce Mitchell

Booger Bottoms is a lighthearted storyline of children being disobedient to parents as portrayed by a family of tree squirrels, (Bushy, Willie, Wahoo, and their mother). An adorable story of humor, drama, fear, and excitement for all ages. Its message is to teach children at an early age to obey their parents.

Buy on Amazon

2 responses to “Interview with Author Joyce Mitchell

  1. Nice interview, Ritesh. And interesting responses, Joyce.

  2. Am waiting for the reviews to link them here!

So, what do you think?

