G is for Felicia Day … err … I mean, The Guild


I am going to confess, I am in love with Felicia Day, as, I am sure a lot of my fellow geeks would say too. I came across Felicia in one of my favorite TV shows, Eureka, where she plays Dr. Holly Marten, who is sent by a senator to evaluate the team in Eureka. She has appeared in a total of 8 episodes as of now, and this is where my love affair with her begins.

When I found her on Goodreads.com and I saw her book shelves, my love for her only deepened. I am truly amazed that she can actually find the time to read this much! And, she likes fantasy. Well, what else can I ask for in the girl of my dreams? I am amazed she finds time to do so many things. Consider all that she is doing right now. She can find time to read, play video games, act on TV, create, write and produce and act in web series and write and create a series of graphic novels. I am simply left gawking at her talent, energy and above all time management.

Here’s a list of her current projects:

The Guild Dragon Age
Eureka Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog
The Legend of Neil Red

This brings me to the main topic for the post, which is The Guild. I did not know of Felicia’s work in the Guild till I started following her on Goodreads and coming across a series of graphic novels in “The Guild” series. I am now a big fan of graphic novels after reading through ones for novels by Jim Butcher, George RR Martin, Dean Koontz, H P Lovecraft, even Jane Austen as well as series such as Sherlock Holmes, The Walking DeadY – The Last ManV for Vendetta, and Watchmen.

This intrigued me to no end, and I hurriedly found the web series “The Guild” on YouTube. I am so glad I did! Felicia Day is the creator, writer, and star of The Guild, a web series which premiered on YouTube about 4 years back and has gotten over 18 million views till date. It revolves around the lives of online guild, The Knights of Good, who play countless hours of an unnamed MMORPG video game. The story focuses on Codex, the guild’s Priestess, who attempts to lead a normal life after one of her guild-mates, Warlock Zaboo, shows up on her doorstep.

And, you can start watching too, just start with the first episode of this series which is now upto season 4!

But, this is a book blog! So, back to the graphic  novels. They are a perfect tie-in to the series, as they provide background information on all the characters in the series, as well as the back story needed to really understand what is going on. In fact there are individual ones for each of the Guild members. For a fan of the show, this material is GOLD!

Felicia, as usual is brilliant, in her writing and as a character. I could clearly hear her voice in my head while reading the graphic novels, as I could for the other characters as well. If you have not seen the show or read these novels, YOU ARE MISSING OUT! Especially if you consider yourself to be a geek!

As a bonus here are all the characters which form this online guild:

People of the Guild

And the real people behind this amazing web series: :P

The people behind The Guild

But enough talk. Let me give you an introduction to the comics:

The Guild, Vol. 1         The Guild, Vol. 2       The Guild, Vol. 3

The Guild – The comic  is divided in three volumes

And there’s more! Every character in the web series seems to be getting a standalone comic. This is a great way to get to know the back stories of each character, what makes them tick, why do they play MMORPGs, and what is going on in their real lives!

Here are the ones out now:

The Guild: Vork    The Guild: Bladezz    The Guild: Tink

The Guild: Clara    The Guild: Zaboo

And, there is a graphic novel too! These are 200 pages of pure genius!

     

So, there you have it. There is so much to follow with this series, you want to get started now! Dive into the magic which Felicia Day had created. I am sure you will become a fan and will not want to be done with it.

9 responses to “G is for Felicia Day … err … I mean, The Guild

  1. Love this post Ritesh!

  2. I haven’t seen or heard of any of this! I’m totally going to have to check this out. -off to watch the youtube video now-

  3. Coincidentally a friend introduced me to The Guild online show just yesterday. Brilliant it is, indeed, and I didn’t know about the comic books. Thanks for the info!

  4. Lol, you geek :)) Cool post, Ritesh. Makes me want to discover the series. Interesting how the different media are crossing over… :)

    • I am totally a geek, and love it! And yes, I see a lot of TV programs getting graphic novels and books. Castle has both books and a graphic novel.
      Books to movies and TV have always been done, but the other way round is just starting off, and I think this will only pick up.

  5. Day also did voice work for the game Fallout: New Vegas, where she is great, really brought a lot of life to the character Veronica. :-)

  6. Oh my, I want to be like her!

  7. Oh man! There need to be more people like her in the world! Thanks for posting this on my FB! LOVE!!!

So, what do you think?

