Writing is My Second Job – Guest Post by Nicole Storey


This post is part of ‘Nicole Storey as featured author for an entire week’. During the week we will be having a number of posts by Nicole. You can find the details here. There will also be a giveaway happening for 3 copies of Nicole Storey’s novel ‘The Chosen One’, which is the first book in the Grimsley Hollow Series series. You can enter the giveaway  here.

Writing is My Second Job by Nicole Storey

There are some days when I wish I could write more.  I consider myself lucky when I get 1000 words down, and many days, I have to go back and re-write those words again.  Why?  Well, the reason is simple.  Writing is not my one and only job.  My first job is very important and will always come first in my life before anything else.  I am a MOM.

This may be something that only “mothers” can relate to.  I don’t believe there is a book in existence that can possibly describe just how much we sacrifice each day to those little bundles of joy that we give birth to – those tiny babies that grow up to be taller than we are and eat us out of house and home.  You know, those children who were once so loveable – doling out hugs and kisses to us in unlimited supplies only to become embarrassed to be seen with us in public?  Yep, those are the ones.

You want the last muffin, even though you just ate two bowls of cereal?  Sure, no problem – mom doesn’t need to eat anyway.  Can I cancel my hair appointment and drive you to a birthday party?  Of course!  I’m sure not too many people there will mistake me for “Cousin It” from the Addams Family.  Mothers have several different jobs all rolled into one: we are nurses, teachers, coaches, chauffeurs, cooks, counselors, maids…we never know what uniform we will be wearing from one day to the next and yet, underneath it all, we always have our “Super Woman” outfits on in case we have to save the day.

Like most little girls, whenever someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, my answers varied, swinging from extreme to the next – from a singer to a marine biologist.  I never said, “I want to be a Mom.”  Motherhood is something that you never really ask for, but instead, is a surprise that you didn’t realize you wanted until it you get it.

In my opinion, being a mother is the toughest job in the world.  We have to learn to expect the unexpected – from endless school projects to fears and heartbreak.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  There are always ups and downs, skinned knees, laughter and tears.  As mothers, it is our duty to teach our children, but in all honesty, I have learned more from my children than they will ever learn from me.

~~~~~

Ritesh: I’m sure I’ll realize the same thing at some point in my life. I know how much my parents have sacrificed for me, so I’d love to take this opportunity to thank them, really thank them! I would not be who I am today without their support and guidance.  What about you, dear reader?

~~~~~

Nicole Storey is the author of Grimsley Hollow-The Chosen One.  Her book can be found in e-book and paper back forms on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, Apple iStore, Sony, and other online website that sell books.

If you’d like to contact Nicole, here are her links:

Facebook    |    Twitter    |    Blog

Website    |    Publisher    |    Amazon Page

NICOLE’S BOOKS

Gage Gilbert is an eleven-year-old boy who just happens to have autism, loves Halloween, and has no friends. Although he has always been happy with the safety and security of his family, he longs for a real friend and adventure, not just the ones he makes up in his head. And then he meets Eve.
Eve is a young witch and is from another world called Grimsley Hollow. It’s where all magical beings live in safety and peace, but their world is in trouble and Gage is the only one who can help save them from an evil witch who has taken control.
With Eve’s help (along with a sarcastic pixy, a trouble-making werewolf, and a half-vampire), Gage travels to Grimsley Hollow and together, they begin a journey that will change them all. It’s a dangerous race against evil, where creatures unheard of stalk the land under a harvest moon and monsters that only exist in dreams become real.
Gage wanted friends and adventure, but he had no idea that they would come at such a dangerous price. Can one autistic boy defeat an evil witch and help save his new friends? Travel to Grimsley Hollow and find out!

Buy on Amazon for Kindle

6 responses to “Writing is My Second Job – Guest Post by Nicole Storey

  1. Thanks for having me this week, Ritesh!

  2. NIcole, when I was little, I *did* want to be a mother. What was I thinking? lol My girls are now 25 (in about a week) and 23 (next month), and I still find myself trying to drop everything if they need me for something and feeling a little selfish if I don’t. I do have more writing time these days, tho. ;) Best wishes to you and your family!

  3. Hi Nicole,

    I found you via Ritesh’s tweet and loved your story…had to share, had to buy your book and look foward to the next one. When I am finished, I will be sure to leave a wonderful review…thankyou for being a wonderful mother and your inspirational story.

    A fellow mom and author,
    A.D. Duling

    P.S. your twitter link goes to your FB page :0)

  4. awesome job bo th Retish and Nickie

  5. Ladies, you’re making me cry! That is so sweet and A.D., thank you so much for buying my book! I look forward to your review!

  6. Pingback: Nicole Storey as ‘Featured Author’ for an entire week! | Ritesh Kala's Book Reviews

So, what do you think?

